12.5 C
New York
Saturday, December 19, 2020
Home News 2015's 'Nobel Prize of computing' honors encryption pioneers

2015’s ‘Nobel Prize of computing’ honors encryption pioneers

Unless you’ve just finished an incredibly dedicated Rip Van Winkle cosplay session, you’re probably well aware of how hot a topic encryption is at the moment. To that end, the winners of the 2015 A.M. Turing Award have been announced. Whitfield Diffie and Martin E. Hellman, authors of 1976’s Diffie-Hellman Protocol, are the recipients of computing’s $1 million “Nobel Prize of computing.” Diffie is the former Chief Security Officer for Sun Microsystems, while Hellman is a professor emeritus of electrical engineering at NorCal’s Ivy League school, Stanford.

The pair’s encryption method is in use all over the web and relies on asymmetrical encryption, using a public key to encrypt data while a private key is used for decryption. It isn’t infallible, however, and you can probably guess pretty easily which government organization was able to crack it. The Turing Award’s governing body, the Association for Computing Machinery, says that (PDF) the obfuscation method is used daily to protect “trillions of dollars” in financial transactions, among other applications.

Should you want to attend the ceremony honoring the duo, make sure you’re in San Francisco on June 11th.

Via: The Verge

Source: Association for Computing Machinery (PDF)


Best Buy discounts this LG 4K monitor by $50, and it ships in time for Christmas

This compact LG monitor is available for only $380 at Best Buy right now.

These iPad accessory deals are crazy cheap — Keyboard, Folio, Apple Pencil

Buy these Apple accessories today at heavily discounted prices and upgrade the way you use your iPad.

The Galaxy S20 FE is one of the best phones, so it keep it looking great

Cases are practically a necessity nowadays, and that remains true for those looking for the best Galaxy S20 FE cases.

Carolina Panthers vs. Green Bay Packers: How to watch week 15 of NFL play f

This unique Saturday Night Football game won't matter too much with Green Bay having already clinched their division. Carolina isn't